Walter Munk Medal

Awarded in Recognition of Distinguished Research in Physical Oceanography, Ocean Acoustics, or Marine Geophysics


The Walter Munk Medal is awarded biennially by The Oceanography Society to an individual ocean scientist for extraordinary accomplishments and novel insights in the areas of physical oceanography, ocean acoustics, or marine geophysics. The Munk Medal also seeks to recognize individuals who have additionally made significant contributions toward educating and mentoring students and early career ocean scientists or who have conducted significant interdisciplinary research in ocean science and/or collaborative research with the wider science community.

The Walter Munk Medalist will deliver the Munk Lecture at a designated Ocean Sciences Meeting and will receive a free two-year honorary membership in TOS, including all of the benefits of membership. The announcement of selection as a medalist is disseminated via TOS News and social media and Oceanography magazine.

The Walter Munk Award

First awarded in 1993 in recognition of distinguished research in oceanography related to sound and the sea, the Walter Munk Award was retired in 2018.
> Learn more and view recipients

The Oceanography Society proudly announces that Dr. Larry Mayer has been selected as the first recipient of the Walter Munk Medal.
> Learn more


The next nomination deadline is October 31, 2021.


The nominee’s work must be directly related to the areas of physical oceanography, ocean acoustics, or marine geophysics. > More

Nomination Procedure

The lead nominator serves as the point of contact. All nomination materials are submitted via the online submission system. > More

Translate »