THE OFFICIAL MAGAZINE OF THE OCEANOGRAPHY SOCIETY

## CITATION

Kappel, E.S. 2012. Quarterdeck: Many thanks to Oceanography guest editors—Past, present, and future. *Oceanography* 25(2):5, http://dx.doi.org/10.5670/oceanog.2012.56.

DOI

http://dx.doi.org/10.5670/oceanog.2012.56

## COPYRIGHT

This article has been published in *Oceanography*, Volume 25, Number 2, a quarterly journal of The Oceanography Society. Copyright 2012 by The Oceanography Society. All rights reserved.

## USAGE

Permission is granted to copy this article for use in teaching and research. Republication, systematic reproduction, or collective redistribution of any portion of this article by photocopy machine, reposting, or other means is permitted only with the approval of The Oceanography Society. Send all correspondence to: info@tos.org or The Oceanography Society, PO Box 1931, Rockville, MD 20849-1931, USA.



#### P.O. Box 1931 Rockville, MD 20849-1931 USA t: (1) 301-251-7708; f: (1) 301-251-7709 www.tos.org

The Oceanography Society was founded in 1988 to disseminate knowledge of oceanography and its application through research and education, to promote communication among oceanographers, and to provide a constituency for consensus-building across all the disciplines of the field.

### OFFICERS

Mike Roman, President Mark Abbott, President-Elect Carolyn Thoroughgood, Past-President Susan Cook, Secretary Susan Banahan, Treasurer

## COUNCILLORS

Scott Doney Mary Scranton Scott Glenn Janet Sprintall Blanche Meeson Debbie Steinberg Charles Nittrouer

#### EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jennifer Ramarui (info@tos.org)

Matthew Alford

**Benjamin Baron-Taltre** 

William Balch

Stace Beaulieu

Michael Bell

Serge Berné

Ted Brekken

Ken Brink

Mel Briscoe

**Bob Burger** 

Elisa Chae

Ben Chicoski

Joan Cleveland

Robert Cowen

Peggy Delaney

Colin Devey

Scott Doney

Hugh Ducklow

Debbie Bronk

**Miquel Canals** 

Luca Centurioni

Whitney Blanchard

Victoria Fabry

Kelly Falkner

**Richard Feely** 

**Chuck Fisher** 

Dan Fornari

Pat Glibert

Vikki Gunn

Kantaro Fujioka

Arnold Gordon

Steve Hammond

James Holden

Debbie Jahnke

**Rick Jahnke** 

Dave Karl

Kerry Kehoe

Kristen Kusek

Dongkyu Lee

Anthony Koppers

J. William Lavelle

Michel Lefèbvre

MaryLee Haughwout

Glen Gawarkiewicz

S P O N S O R S Biospherical Instruments Inc. www.biospherical.com

> Fugro GEOS www.geos.com

Lockheed Martin Sippican Inc. www.sippican.com

> Ober | Kaler www.ober.com

Satlantic www.satlantic.com

Sea-Bird Electronics Inc. www.seabird.com

SubChem Systems Inc. www.subchem.com

Teledyne RD Instruments www.rdinstruments.com

> WET Labs www.wetlabs.com

# Many Thanks to Oceanography Guest Editors

Past, Present, and Future

It is difficult to believe that I have never written a Quarterdeck column thanking all of the guest editors who have worked with me to publish special issues of *Oceanography*. Simply put, we could not do it without them. Guest editors develop the table of contents of special issues and invite authors to contribute manuscripts. They conduct the peer review and ride herd on their authors to get their manuscripts in and revised and final files to *Oceanography*. Guest editors often endure relentless pestering from *Oceanography*'s editor—me—because deadlines must be met and the magazine published on time. There is a fairly narrow margin of error. The few subtle places where their names appear in the magazine or on the *Oceanography* website don't come close to honoring the efforts, often heroic, of the guest editors. Here I list all of the marvelous guest editors with whom I have worked over the last eight years as *Oceanography* editor. I send all of them a big hearty THANK YOU!!!

> ELLEN S. KAPPEL, EDITOR Pierre-Yves Le Traon Tim Shank Eric Lindstrom Neville Smith

Ralph Lopez Patricia Matrai Nikolai Maximenko Craig McLean Laury Miller Greg Mountain Lauren Mullineaux Jim Murray **Chuck Nittrouer** Alex Orsi Joe Ortiz Terri Paluszkiewicz Jesús Pineda Grant Pitcher **Tony Pitcher** Lita Proctor Peter Ranelli Don Rice Carleigh Rodriguez Ray Schmitt

Tim Shank Neville Smith Walter H.F. Smith Hubert Staudigel Lou St. Laurent James Syvitski Tswen Yung David Tang Phil Taylor Kethy Tedesco Ellen Ternes Simon Thorrold Maya Tolstoy Fabio Trincardi Cesar Villanov Annette von Jouanne Philip Weaver Iulia Wellner Cisco Werner Josh Willis Kirsten Wilmer-Becker Rebecca Woodgate