Nils Gunnar Jerlov Award

Awarded in Recognition of Contributions Made to the Advancement of Our Knowledge of the Nature and Consequences of Light in the Ocean


The Oceanography Society is pleased to announce that Dr. Annick Bricaud was selected as the 2018 recipient of The Nils Gunnar Jerlov Award recognizing her contributions to the advancement of our knowledge of the nature and consequences of light in the ocean.

2018 Award: Dr. Annick Bricaud

Dr. Bricaud is recognized internationally for her groundbreaking contributions to ocean optics, which cover experimental and theoretical studies on seawater optical properties, fieldwork-based bio-optical relationships, and algorithms for deriving biogeochemical products from satellite ocean color. She is a senior research scientist at the Laboratoire d’Océanographie de Villefranche (LOV), CNRS – Sorbonne Université, Villefranche-sur-Mer, France, which she joined in 1976. Her 75 papers received the outstanding number of 11,400 citations, and many opened new avenues of research. Annick mentored numerous students, in France and worldwide, and has a long record of contribution to community service. She is among the first female researchers in optical oceanography.

Dr. Bricaud was honored during a ceremony on October 11, 2018 at the Ocean Optics Conference in Dubrovnik, Croatia.

Previous Recipients

2016: Curtis Mobley
2014: George W. Kattawar
2012: Kendall L. Carder
2010: Charles S. Yentsch
2008: Talbot Waterman
2006: J. Ronald V. Zaneveld
2004: Howard R. Gordon
2002: Raymond C. Smith
2000: André Morel

Translate »