Nils Gunnar Jerlov Award

For Having Significantly Advanced Our Knowledge of How Light Interacts with the Ocean


The Oceanography Society commemorates Dr. Nils Gunnar Jerlov and his many contributions to the study of light in the ocean with an international award, given biennially, to an individual ocean scientist for having significantly advanced our knowledge of how light interacts with the ocean. The Jerlov Award also seeks to recognize individuals who have additionally made significant contributions toward educating and mentoring students and early career ocean scientists or who have conducted significant interdisciplinary research in ocean science and/or collaborative research with the wider science community.

The awardee receives a bronze medallion, a lapel pin, travel support to attend the Ocean Optics Conference, a one-year complimentary membership in The Oceanography Society, and a cash award. The awardee is also recognized at the banquet during the conference.

This award is supported by the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the U.S. Office of Naval Research.

Dr. Edward S. Fry of Texas A&M University has been selected as The Oceanography Society’s 2020 Nils Gunnar Jerlov Award recipient.
> Learn more


The next nomination deadline is October 31, 2023


The nominee’s work must deal directly with the processes governing the interaction of light with the ocean and/or the consequences of such interactions. > More

Nomination Procedure

The lead nominator serves as the point of contact. All nomination materials are submitted via the online submission system. > More

© 2023 The Oceanography Society
1 Research Court, Suite 450-117, Rockville, MD, 20850, USA | Phone: (1) 301-251-7708 | [email protected] | Privacy Policy

Translate »